Klaus Thönißen, LL.M. (San Francisco)

Klaus Thönißen, LL.M. (San Francisco)

Klaus Thönißen, LL.M. (San Francisco)

Essen

T +49 201 9220 24659

Lawyer
Partner
Certified Specialist in Employment Law
Industries Logistics , Mobility & Logistics , Health Care & Life Science

Areas of Practice

Klaus Thönißen primarily advises on the restructuring of companies or groups of companies and the transfer of businesses. In addition to advising clients, his area of responsibility also includes providing intensive assistance in negotiations on the reconciliation of interests and social compensation plans with the relevant employee representatives.

His clients include numerous family businesses. Not least because of a one-year interim position as Legal Counsel at Ottobock SE & Co. KGaA, he has extensive knowledge of business processes and, therefore, provides comprehensive, strategic advice.

Practices
Vita

Klaus Thönißen first developed an interest for employment law during his studies in Bonn (Germany). It was because of this enthusiasm that he passed the university part of his first state exam in the area of employment and social security (under the supervision of Prof. Dr Gregor Thüsing, among others). In addition, from the sixth semester onwards, he worked continuously – over a total period of around 5 years – for a certified specialist in employment law. Following his first state exam, Klaus Thönißen carried out his legal training in Düsseldorf (Germany) and San Francisco (USA). This also included a training period in the employment law department of an international business law firm. After passing his second state law exam, he pursued a master’s degree at the University of San Francisco (USA), where he was awarded the title Master of Laws (LL.M.).

Honors and Distinctions
  • The Legal 500 Germany (2019): Listed in the category " Employment law "
Publications

Klaus Thönißen, LL.M. (San Francisco)

Klaus Thönißen, LL.M. (San Francisco)

Klaus Thönißen, LL.M. (San Francisco)

Essen

T +49 201 9220 24659

Rechtsanwalt
Fachanwalt für Arbeitsrecht
Partner
Branche Logistics , Mobility & Logistics , Health Care & Life Science

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Herr Thönißen berät insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit Restrukturierungen von Unternehmen oder Unternehmensgruppen sowie bei Betriebsübergängen. Dabei gehört neben der Beratung des Mandanten auch die intensive Begleitung von Verhandlungen über einen Interessenausgleich und Sozialplan mit den entsprechenden Arbeitnehmervertretungen zu seinem Aufgabengebiet.

Zu seinen Mandanten zählen insbesondere Familienunternehmen. Nicht zuletzt wegen einer einjährigen Interims-Tätigkeit als Legal Counsel bei der Ottobock SE & Co. KGaA hat er beste Kenntnisse von Unternehmensabläufen und bietet daher eine umfassende, strategische Beratung an.

 

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Bereits während des Studiums in Bonn begeisterte sich Klaus Thönißen für das Arbeitsrecht. Deshalb legte er den universitären Teil des ersten Staatsexamens im Schwerpunktbereich Arbeit & Soziale Sicherung (u. a. bei Prof. Dr. Gregor Thüsing) ab. Zudem arbeitete er ab dem 6. Semester kontinuierlich - insgesamt über einen Zeitraum von etwa 5 Jahren - für einen Fachanwalt für Arbeitsrecht. Nach dem ersten Staatsexamen absolvierte Klaus Thönißen das Referendariat in Düsseldorf und San Francisco. In der sogenannten Anwaltsstation war Herr Thönißen in einer internationalen Wirtschaftskanzlei in der Praxisgruppe Arbeitsrecht tätig. Nach dem zweiten juristischen Staatsexamen nahm er an einem Masterstudiengang an der University of San Francisco teil und erwarb den Titel Master of Laws (LL.M.).

Auszeichnungen
  • The Legal 500 Deutschland (2019): Nennung in der Rubrik "Arbeitsrecht"
Publikationen

Blog Einträge