Ofeliia Assa, LL.M., CAIA

Ofeliia Assa, LL.M., CAIA

Ofeliia Assa, LL.M., CAIA

Frankfurt a.M.

T +49 69 27229 24670

Counsel
Chartered Alternative Investments Analyst

Areas of Practice

Ofeliia Assa has gained significant experience advising leading German, Australian, European and U.S. asset managers and credit institutions on tax and regulatory matters with special focus on compliance under the Solvency II regulations, CRR/CRD IV and the German Insurance Supervision Act. She advises clients on the structuring and regulation of foreign investment funds, with particular emphasis on alternative investments, including hedge funds, infrastructure and real estate investment funds, private debt funds, securitisations and alternative UCITS. She is highly experienced in risk exposure optimization and regulatory reporting and compliance, advising global asset managers and financial institutions targeting institutional investors regulated in Europe.

Practices
Vita

Ofeliia Assa graduated with a master degree in law from Sofia University St. Kl. Ohridsky, Faculty of Law, Bulgaria (magna cum laude) in 1998 specialising in Civil Law and International Affairs. In the same year she emigrated to Israel. In 1998 and 1999 she took up Hebrew studies and passed the qualification exams in Israeli law as a foreign lawyer. In the period from year 2000 to 2002 she completed a one year mandatory legal internship and passed successfully the bar exams in Israel. Since July 2002 Ofeliia Assa has been a member of the Israel Bar Association, district of Tel Aviv.

She started her professional career as a lawyer managing employees’ stock option plans of a high-tech company based in Israel and the USA, supporting also the related tax reporting and other areas concerning employees’ relocation abroad. In the period until 2006 she broadened her practice including cross border tax advising concerning transactions involving activities in Israel and Bulgaria as well as additional corporate and civil law services. During that time she earned her second master degree in commercial law from Tel Aviv University, The Buchmann Faculty of Law, Israel (magna cum laude) with special focus on finance, corporate and securities law.

In 2006 Ofeliia Assa relocated to Germany. She continued her professional career in 2007 as an international lawyer in the Asset Management Regulatory Consulting Group at PwC, where she worked during the last four years until 2017 as a manager responsible for the tax reporting and regulatory compliance projects with some of the largest international asset managers and fund administrators.

While expanding her practical experience, she also broadened her knowledge of alternative investments and earned the Chartered Alternative Investments Analyst designation (CAIA) in 2013, becoming a member of the CAIA global organisation. Since 2014 she has also been a member of the Bulgarian Bar Association, district Vratza. She is registered as a European lawyer with the Bar Association in Frankfurt am Main, Germany (Rechtsanwaltskammer – Frankfurt am Main).

From July 2017 through August 2019 Ofeliia Assa was a senior associate in the Financial Service Group at Dechert LLP in Frankfurt. In September 2019 she joined the Capital Markets & Banking team at Luther Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH as counsel.

 

 

Clients

  • Tax, Solvency II and VAG compliance and reporting services delivered to a large international asset manager focused on private debt.
  • Solvency II structuring and advising services provided to a U.S. based asset manager interested in approaching European institutional investors.
  • Tax advising and legal opinion drafting for an Irish asset manager focused on renewable energy, willing to approach German institutional investors.
  • Legal opinion and qualification of infrastructure investments under the Solvency II regulations and regular monitoring and reporting services to an international infrastructure assets manager.

Ofeliia Assa, LL.M., CAIA

Ofeliia Assa, LL.M., CAIA

Ofeliia Assa, LL.M., CAIA

Frankfurt a.M.

T +49 69 27229 24670

Advokat, Orechet Din
Chartered Alternative Investments Analyst
Counsel

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Ofeliia Assa verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Beratung führender deutscher, australischer, europäischer und US-amerikanischer Asset Manager und Kreditinstitute in steuerlichen und aufsichtsrechtlichen Angelegenheiten, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf der Einhaltung des Solvency II-Regelwerks, der Eigenkapitalverordnung (CRR)/Eigenkapitalrichtlinie (CRD IV) und des deutschen Versicherungsaufsichtsgesetzes (VAG) liegt. Sie berät Mandanten zur Gestaltung und Regulierung ausländischer Investmentfonds mit dem besonderen Schwerpunkt Alternative Investments einschließlich Hedgefonds, Infrastruktur- und Immobilieninvestmentfonds, Private Debt-Fonds, Verbriefungen und alternative OGAW. Sie ist äußerst erfahren in der Optimierung von Risikopotenzialen sowie in den Bereichen Regulatory Reporting und Compliance, wo sie internationale Asset Manager und Finanzinstitutionen berät, deren Zielgruppe in Europa regulierte institutionelle Anleger sind.

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Ofeliia Assa schloss ihr Studium an der juristischen Fakultät der Universität St. Kl. Ohridsky in Sofia, Bulgarien, 1998 mit einem Masterabschluss in Rechtswissenschaften (magna cum laude) mit den Schwerpunkten Zivilrecht und Internationale Angelegenheiten ab. Im selben Jahr wanderte sie nach Israel aus. 1998 und 1999 nahm sie ein Hebräischstudium auf und absolvierte erfolgreich die Eignungsprüfungen in israelischem Recht als ausländische Rechtsanwältin. Im Zeitraum 2000 bis 2002 absolvierte sie ein einjähriges Pflichtrechtspraktikum und legte erfolgreich die Anwaltsprüfungen in Israel ab. Ofeliia Assa ist seit Juli 2002 als Rechtsanwältin in Israel, Bezirk Tel Aviv, zugelassen.

Zu Beginn ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn als Rechtsanwältin betreute sie zunächst die Mitarbeiter-Aktienoptionsprogramme eines in Israel und den USA ansässigen High Tech-Unternehmens und unterstützte auch beim diesbezüglichen Tax Reporting und in anderen Bereichen im Zusammenhang mit dem Wechsel von Mitarbeitern ins Ausland. Im Zeitraum bis 2006 erweiterte sie ihr Tätigkeitsfeld um eine grenzüberschreitende Steuerberatung im Zusammenhang mit Transaktionen betreffend Tätigkeiten in Israel und Bulgarien sowie um weitere gesellschafts- und zivilrechtliche Beratungsleistungen. In dieser Zeit erwarb sie ihren zweiten Masterabschluss in Wirtschaftsrecht von der Universität Tel Aviv, Buchmann-Fakultät der Rechtswissenschaften, Israel (magna cum laude) mit dem Schwerpunkt im Finanz-, Gesellschafts- und Wertpapierrecht.

Ofeliia Assa zog 2006 nach Deutschland. 2007 setzte sie ihre berufliche Laufbahn als internationale Rechtsanwältin bei PwC in der regulatorischen Asset Management-Beratung fort, wo sie in den letzten vier Jahren bis 2017 als für Tax Reporting und Regulatory Compliance-Projekte zuständige Managerin mit einigen der größten internationalen Asset Managern und Fondsverwaltern zusammenarbeitete.

Neben dem Ausbau ihrer praktischen Erfahrungen erweiterte sie auch ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich Alternative Investments. 2013 erwarb Ofeliia Assa den Titel Chartered Alternative Investments Analyst (CAIA) und wurde Mitglied der internationalen CAIA-Organisation. Seit 2014 ist sie darüber hinaus in Bulgarien im Bezirk Vratza als Rechtsanwältin zugelassen. Sie wurde als europäische Rechtsanwältin in die Rechtsanwaltskammer Frankfurt am Main aufgenommen.

Ofeliia Assa war von Juli 2017 bis August 2019 als Senior Associate im Bereich Financial Services bei der Dechert LLP in Frankfurt tätig. Im September 2019 wechselte sie als Counsel in das Capital Markets & Banking-Team der Luther Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH.

Ausgewählte Mandate

  • Beratung eines vornehmlich im Bereich Private Debt tätigen großen internationalen Asset Managers zu Steuer-, Solvency II- und VAG-Compliance und Reporting
  • Gestaltungs- und Beratungsleistungen betreffend Solvency II für einen in den USA ansässigen, an der Ansprache von europäischen institutionellen Anlegern interessierten Asset Manager
  • Steuerliche Beratung und Erstellung eines Rechtsgutachtens für einen an der Ansprache von deutschen institutionellen Anlegern interessierten irischen Asset Manager mit dem Schwerpunkt auf erneuerbaren Energien
  • Rechtsgutachten und Einstufung von Infrastrukturinvestitionen nach dem Solvency II-Regelwerk sowie laufende Beobachtung und Unterstützung beim Reporting für einen internationalen Asset Manager im Bereich Infrastruktur