Dr Marco Arteaga

Dr Marco Arteaga

Dr Marco Arteaga

Frankfurt a.M.

T +49 69 27229 27063

Lawyer
Graduate in Business Administration
Partner

Areas of practice

Dr Marco Arteaga deals with all matters relating to occupational pensions, including tax, commercial, accounting, insolvency, social security and insurance law and all related actuarial, business administration and personnel policy aspects, which may arise when introducing or designing occupational pension schemes. He further deals with all pension-related issues raised by the involved pension providers and the typical financing instruments, such as direct insurance, reinsurance and collective insurance policies, pension funds, municipal, state and church supplementary pension funds and contractual trust arrangements (CTAs).

Practices
Vita

Dr Marco Arteaga studied business administration and law in Wiesbaden and Mainz (both Germany) and received his doctorate from the University of Cologne (Germany) for a thesis on a topic regarding insolvency insurance for shareholder-employees’ occupational pensions. He has several years of experience working in managerial functions in occupational pension consulting and in the life insurance industry and sits on various association committees. Furthermore, he has advised the German federal government on the Occupational Pension Strengthening Act (2017). Marco Arteaga has published extensively in the relevant fields of law, is a member of the German Occupational Pension Association (aba), the Scientific Board of the German Insurance Science and Design Association (GVG) and a member and spokesperson of "Eberbacher Kreis", an association of lawyers from large national and international law firms whose focus area is occupational pension schemes.

Honors and distinctions
  • Best Lawyers (2022): Award in "Labor and Employment Law" (since 2020)
  • Personalmagazin (2017): one of the “40 leading HR experts”
  • JUVE Guide: one of the leading advisors in the design of occupational pension schemes
Clients

  • Advising on the reduction of pension provisions without encroaching upon acquired rights: extending the planned pension payments by granting payment-by-instalment options in the occupational pension scheme; immediate balance sheet relief through reduction of pension provisions
  • Advising on balance sheet relief in conjunction with an encroachment upon acquired rights as part of a restructuring: group-wide removal of future service from existing pension commitments; focus on the group’s financial position, immediate balance sheet relief on a large scale
  • Advising on an immediate increase in liquid funds by retransferring CTA funds: measure to retransfer trust funds from a contractual trust arrangement (CTA) to the sponsoring undertaking, releasing large amounts of liquid funds
  • Advising on a collective bargaining agreement replacing existing arrangements in order to reduce pension provisions: harmonisation of a large number of pension schemes within a group of companies and simultaneous reduction of future pension increases, making use of the increased encroachment rights granted to bargaining parties as compared to the German Federal Labour Court’s three-step theory for encroachments by works agreement
  • Advising on how to facilitate M&A transactions by spinning off company pension schemes: isolated or combined release of the sold business from pension obligations by means of a spin-off under transformation law or through co-debtor models in conjunction with external financing via a trust
  • Advising on how to relieve the voluntary insurance schemes handled by supplementary pension funds: transferring funds from the compulsory insurance business to the voluntary insurance schemes whose provisions are to be covered pursuant to the rules defined in the German Insurance Supervisory Act, thereby avoiding immediate special contributions
  • Advising on claims for damages against a former management board member: making the board member’s pension available as part of the assets involved in the damages negotiations
  • Advising on how to achieve a more favourable valuation of reinsured pension schemes in an M&A transaction: benefitting from the more advantageous rules for fully reinsured pension schemes in the context of an M&A transaction, in lieu of the standard valuation of reinsurance policies at “market value”
  • Advising on the “conversion of pension provisions into equity”: model project in cooperation with one of the “Big Four” audit firms aimed at immediately improving the balance sheet (higher equity) through an outsourcing transaction via a generally endowed pension fund with a view to recapitalising the company
  • Advising on an “alternative financing model for civil servants’ pensions”: drafting and negotiating an alternative financing model using a pension fund for a higher federal authority’s obligations
  • Advised the German Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs in 2015/2016 in connection with the preparations for the “Occupational Pension Strengthening Act”, in particular with regard to the introduction of the “pure defined-contribution commitment” and the “option systems” designed to automatically include the entire workforce into the deferred compensation scheme

Publications
Memberships

  • German Occupational Pension Association (aba)
  • German Insurance Science and Design Association (GVG)
  • Eberbacher Kreis

Dr. Marco Arteaga

Dr. Marco Arteaga

Dr. Marco Arteaga

Frankfurt a.M.

T +49 69 27229 27063

Rechtsanwalt
Dipl. Betriebswirt (FH)
Partner

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Dr. Marco Arteaga befasst sich mit allen Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich der betrieblichen Altersversorgung (bAV), einschließlich Steuer-, Handels-, Bilanz-, Insolvenz- Sozialversicherungs- und Versicherungsrecht sowie der damit in Zusammenhang stehenden aktuariellen, betriebswirtschaftlichen und personalpolitischen Bezüge, die sich im Zusammenhang mit der Einführung oder der Gestaltung betrieblicher Versorgungswerke ergeben. Hinzu kommen alle versorgungsbezogenen Fragestellungen der beteiligten Versorgungsträger und der typischen Finanzierungsinstrumente wie Direktversicherungen, Rückdeckungsversicherungen, Kollektivversicherungen, Pensionskassen, Pensionsfonds, kommunale, staatliche und kirchliche Zusatzversorgungskassen und  Vertragstreuhandkonstruktionen (CTA).

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Dr. Marco Arteaga studierte Betriebswirtschaft und Rechtswissenschaften in Wiesbaden und Mainz und promovierte über die Insolvenzsicherung von betrieblicher Altersversorgung mitarbeitender Gesellschafter an der Universität zu Köln. Er hat mehrjährige Berufserfahrung in Leitungsfunktionen in der bAV-Beratung und in der Lebensversicherungswirtschaft und ist in diversen Verbandsgremien tätig. Darüber hinaus ist Dr. Marco Arteaga Berater der Bundesregierung für das Betriebsrentenstärkungsgesetz (2017). Er hat umfangreiche einschlägige rechtswisssenschaftliche Publikationen veröffentlicht, ist Mitglied der ABA, des wissenschaftlichen Beirats der GVG sowie Mitglied und Sprecher des "Eberbacher Kreises".

Auszeichnungen
  • Best Lawyers (2022): Auszeichnung in "Labor and Employment Law" (seit 2020)
  • Personalmagazin (2017): "40 HR Köpfe"
  • JUVE Handbuch: Einer der führenden Berater in der Gestaltung betrieblicher Altersvorsorge
Ausgewählte Mandate

  • Absenkung von Pensionsrückstellungen ohne Eingriff in die Besitzstände: Erweiterung der planmäßig vorgesehenen Rentenzahlungen durch Einräumung von Ratenzahlungswahlrechten im betrieblichen Versorgungssystem. Sofortige Bilanzentlastung durch Minderung der Pensionsrückstellung.
  • Bilanzielle Entlastung mit Eingriff in Besitzstände im Rahmen einer Restrukturierung: Konzernweites Abschneiden des Future Service aus den bestehenden Versorgungszusagen. Abstellen auf die wirtschaftliche Lage der Gruppe mit sofortiger hoher Bilanzentlastung.
  • Sofortige Liquiditätserhöhung durch Rückübertragung von CTA-Mitteln: Maßnahme zur Rückübertragung von Treuhandmitteln aus einer Vertragstreuhand (CTA) zum Trägerunternehmen mit hohen Liquiditätsfreisetzungen.
  • Ablösender Tarifvertrag zur Reduktion der Pensionsrückstellungen: Vereinheitlichung zahlreicher Versorgungsordnungen innerhalb einer Unternehmensgruppe mit gleichzeitiger Absenkung der künftigen Rentenerhöhungen; dabei Nutzung der erweiterten Eingriffsrechte der Tarifvertragsparteien gegenüber der Dreistufen-Theorie des BAG bei Eingriffen durch Betriebsvereinbarung.
  • Entlastung von M&A Vorgängen durch Abspaltung der betrieblichen Altersversorgung (bAV): Isolierte oder kombinierte Entlastung des Verkaufsobjekts von Pensionsverpflichtungen durch umwandlungsrechtliche Abspaltung oder Schuldbeitrittsmodelle in Verbindung mit Treuhand-Ausfinanzierungen.
  • Entlastung der Freiwilligen Versicherung bei Zusatzversorgungskassen: Übertragung von Mitteln aus der Pflichtversicherung auf den nach VAG-Regeln zu bedeckenden Abrechnungsverband der Freiwilligen Versicherung und dadurch Vermeidung sofortiger Sonderumlagen.
  • Schadensersatzansprüche gegen früheres Vorstandsmitglied: Verfügbarmachung der Vorstandspension für die Verhandlungsmasse bei den Schadensersatzverhandlungen.
  • Günstigere Bewertung rückgedeckter Pensionspläne im M&A Prozess: Nutzung der vorteilhafteren Regelungen für kongruent gedeckte Pensionspläne im Rahmen eines M&A Vorgangs anstelle der standardmäßigen „Market Value“ Bewertung von Rückdeckungsversicherungen.
  • „Umwandlung von Pensionsrückstellungen in Eigenkapital“: Modellvorhaben im Zusammenwirken mit einer der „Big Four“ WP-Gesellschaften zur sofortigen Bilanzverbesserung (höheres Eigenkapital) durch Auslagerungsvorgang über pauschaldotierte Unterstützungskasse zur Sanierung des Unternehmens.
  • „Alternatives Finanzierungsmodell für Beamtenversorgung“: Entwurf und Verhandlung eines alternativen Finanzierungsmodells für die Verpflichtungen einer oberen Bundesbehörde unter Zuhilfenahme eines Pensionsfonds.
  • Beratung des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales im Jahr 2015/2016 im Rahmen der Vorbereitung des „Betriebsrenten-Stärkungsgesetzes“, insbesondere bei der Einführung der „Reinen Beitragszusage“ und der „Optionssysteme“ zur automatischen Einbindung ganzer Belegschaften in die Entgeltumwandlung.

Publikationen
Mitgliedschaften

  • Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Betriebliche Altersversorgung
  • Gesellschaft für Versicherungswissenschaft und -gestaltung
  • Eberbacher Kreis