Mathieu Laurent

Mathieu Laurent

Mathieu Laurent

Luxembourg, Luxembourg

T +352 27484 662

Partner
Avocat à la Cour

Areas of Practice

Mathieu Laurent is a Partner of the Corporate/M&A practice and heads the Dispute Resolution practice of Luther's Luxembourg office.

Mathieu focuses on private equity transactions, real estate transactions, and corporate acquisitions. He has extensive experience in advising on the structuring of unregulated funds, the performance of corporate due diligence, the negotiation of share purchase agreements, shareholders' agreements, financing agreements (bank facilities, intra-group loans, issuance of bonds, hybrid instruments), security documents, and guarantees.

He also specializes in shareholders' disputes, corporate insolvency, group refinancing and restructuring, and IP structures.

Practices
Vita

Mathieu Laurent holds a degree in English and French Business Law and a Master's degree in International Business Law from the University of Rennes, France, as well as an LL.M. in International Business Law from the University of Exeter in the UK.

He was admitted to the Luxembourg bar in 2006 and to the roll of solicitors of England & Wales in 2008. Before joining Luther, he practiced for several years at a magic circle law firm in Luxembourg.

Honors and Distinctions
  • IFLR1000 (2020) : Ranked in Restructuring and Insolvency as Highly regarded. Clients say: "[Mathieu] has provided excellent services and put his excellent knowledge of the Luxembourg legal framework on full display." "One of the most competent, professional and noteworthy lawyers I have had the pleasure of working with." "Permanent availability, quick response and provides overall excellent advice." "Very knowledgeable, which makes it easy for him to be result-oriented."

  • Legal 500 EMEA (2019) : Recognised for Dispute Resolution."The 'technically strong and pragmatic' Mathieu Laurent has 'very good expertise in shareholder conflicts' and has been particularly active of late on behalf of minority shareholders."

  • Chambers and Partners Europe ( 2019) : Ranked Up & Coming Lawyer for Dispute Resolution. "Clients praise Mathieu Laurent 's ‘commercial awareness, availability and flexibility.’ His practice focuses on commercial mandates, acting for clients on insolvency and restructuring proceedings and shareholders' disputes."

  • IFLR1000 (2019): Ranked in Restructuring and insolvency as Highly regarded. Clients say: "He is a very accessible lawyer. He is focused on client satisfaction. He has a very good understanding of the clients' issues." "He is commercially astute, very responsive, pragmatic and highly knowledgeable. Communication is extremely smooth. As I have worked with him for now quite a few years, he anticipates our needs."
     
  • Legal 500 EMEA, 2018: Mathieu Laurent has 'a tremendous amount of transactional experience'.
     
  • Chambers and Partners, Europe 2018: Ranked Up & Coming Lawyer for Dispute Resolution
Publications

Mathieu Laurent

Mathieu Laurent

Mathieu Laurent

Luxemburg

T +352 27484 1

Avocat à la Cour
Partner

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Mathieu Laurent ist Partner im Bereich Gesellschaftsrecht/M&A und leitet Luthers Praxisgruppe Dispute Resolution am Standort Luxemburg.

Der Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt von Mathieu Laurent liegt auf Private Equity-Transaktionen, Immobilientransaktionen und Unternehmenskäufen. Er verfügt über umfangreiche Beratungserfahrung in der Strukturierung von nicht regulierten Fonds, der Durchführung von Corporate Due Diligence-Prüfungen, dem Aushandeln von Anteilskaufverträgen, Gesellschaftervereinbarungen, Finanzierungsvereinbarungen (Bankkredite, konzerninterne Darlehen, Begebung von Anleihen, hybride Instrumente), Sicherheitsdokumenten und Garantien.

Daneben ist er spezialisiert auf Gesellschafterstreitigkeiten, Unternehmensinsolvenzen, konzernweite Refinanzierungen und Umstrukturierungen sowie die Strukturierung von geistigem Eigentum.

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Mathieu Laurent hat einen Abschluss in englischem und französischem Wirtschaftsrecht, einen Masterabschluss in internationalem Wirtschaftsrecht von der Universität Rennes, Frankreich, sowie einen LL.M.-Abschluss in internationalem Wirtschaftsrecht von der Universität Exeter, England.

Er ist seit 2006 in Luxemburg und seit 2008 in England und Wales als Anwalt zugelassen.

Vor seinem Wechsel zu Luther war er mehrere Jahre bei einer sogenannten Magic Circle-Kanzlei in Luxemburg tätig.

Auszeichnungen
  • Legal 500 EMEA (2020): Recognized for Commercial, Corporate and M&A.  "Mathieu Laurent is one of the best available in the country right now and effortlessly exhibits knowledge and expertise. Mathieu Laurent is creative, experienced, responsive and very knowledgeable across many fields.”

  • Chambers and Partners Europe (2020): Gelistet als Up & Coming Lawyer im Bereich Dispute Resolution. "Mandanten berichten: Ich habe großen Respekt vor seiner Hartnäckigkeit und seinem tiefen Wissen. Er hat auch Erfahrung mit Bank- und Restrukturierungsstreitigkeiten."

  • IFLR1000 (2020): Aufgeführt im Bereich Restructuring and Insolvency als „hoch angesehen“. Mandanten sagen: „[Mathieu Laurent] hat hervorragende Beratungsleistungen erbracht und seine ausgezeichneten Kenntnisse in Bezug auf die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen in Luxemburg umfänglich unter Beweis gestellt.“ „Einer der kompetentesten, professionellsten und bemerkenswertesten Rechtsanwälte, mit denen ich je das Vergnügen hatte zusammenzuarbeiten.“ „Ständige Verfügbarkeit, schnelle Reaktion und erbringt insgesamt ausgezeichnete Beratungsleistungen.“ „Sehr sachkundig, was es ihm einfach macht, ergebnisorientiert zu arbeiten.“

  • Legal 500 EMEA (2019): Anerkennung im Bereich Dispute Resolution. „Der ‚technisch starke und pragmatische‘ Mathieu Laurent verfügt über ‚sehr gute Fachkenntnisse im Bereich Gesellschafterkonflikte‘ und hat in der jüngeren Vergangenheit verstärkt Minderheitsgesellschafter vertreten.“

  • Chambers and Partners Europe ( 2019) : Aufgeführt als „Up & Coming“ Rechtsanwalt im Bereich Dispute Resolution. „Mandanten loben ‘das wirtschaftliche Bewusstsein, die Verfügbarkeit und die Flexibilität‘ von Mathieu Laurent. Der Schwerpunkt seiner Beratungstätigkeit liegt im Bereich wirtschaftlicher Mandate, wo er für Mandanten im Rahmen von Insolvenz- und Restrukturierungsverfahren sowie bei Gesellschafterstreitigkeiten tätig wird.“

  • IFLR1000 (2019): Aufgeführt im Bereich Restructuring and Insolvency als „hoch angesehen“. Mandanten sagen: "Er ist ein sehr aufgeschlossener Anwalt. Er ist auf die Mandantenzufriedenheit bedacht. Er hat ein sehr gutes Verständnis für die Probleme der Mandanten." "Er denkt unternehmerisch, reagiert schnell, pragmatisch und sehr sachkundig. Die Kommunikation verläuft extrem reibungslos. Da ich schon seit einigen Jahren mit ihm zusammenarbeite, kann er unsere Bedürfnisse antizipieren."
     
  • Legal 500 EMEA, 2018: Mathieu Laurent hat 'eine enorme Transkationserfahrung'.
     
  • Chambers and Partners, Europe 2018: Aufgeführt als „Up & Coming“ Rechtsanwalt im Bereich Dispute Resolution.
Publikationen