Sebastian Wuschka LL.M. (Geneva MIDS)

Sebastian Wuschka LL.M. (Geneva MIDS)

Sebastian Wuschka LL.M. (Geneva MIDS)

Hamburg

T +49 40 18067 12944

Of Counsel

Areas of practice

Sebastian Wuschka assists domestic and foreign clients in relation to complex litigation and arbitration proceedings, with a strong focus on public international law matters (including public international law advisory work).

In the area of international investment law, he assists both corporate investors and state-owned enterprises with their investment disputes and is particularly experienced in intra-EU investment matters. Sebastian Wuschka’s expertise further covers questions of public international law more broadly (e.g. international human rights and humanitarian law).

In addition to his public international law work, his practice covers commercial arbitration under all major institutional rules, in particular of the ICC and the DIS, as well as the recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards and set-aside proceedings.

Practices
Vita

Sebastian Wuschka has been a member of Luther’s Complex Disputes team since 2014. He currently is a research fellow in tax disputes and international arbitration at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, and of counsel in Luther’s Hamburg office.

Sebastian Wuschka studied law in Bochum (Dipl. Jur., 2012) and Geneva (MIDS LL.M., 2014) and holds certificates in both private and public international law from The Hague Academy of International Law (2014 and 2017). During his bar qualification period with the Higher Regional Court of Hamburg, he inter alia alsoworked on international law and EU law matters at Germany’s Hamburg-based Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency, on human rights law questions relating to mineral supply chains at the German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ) in Bonn and with the international arbitration practice of a renowned US law firm in Washington, D.C.

An associated member of Ruhr-University Bochum’s Institute for the International Law of Peace and Armed Conflict, Sebastian Wuschka has served as a visiting lecturer for international dispute settlement at Ruhr-University Bochum, for public international law and human rights law at the University of Hamburg as well as for international investment law at Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg.

Honors and distinctions
  • Who's Who Legal (2021): recommended as Global Future Leader in "Arbitration"
Publications
Blog posts
Lectures

Sebastian Wuschka LL.M. (Geneva MIDS)

Sebastian Wuschka LL.M. (Geneva MIDS)

Sebastian Wuschka LL.M. (Geneva MIDS)

Hamburg

T +49 40 18067 12944

Of Counsel

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Sebastian Wuschka berät und vertritt in- und ausländische Mandanten bzgl. komplexer Rechtsstreitigkeiten. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt auf völkerrechtlichen Streitigkeiten – insbesondere Investitionsschiedsverfahren – einschließlich der generellen völkerrechtlichen Rechtsberatung.

Sebastian Wuschka unterstützt sowohl private Investoren wie auch staatliche oder staatsnahe Unternehmen bei Investitionsstreitigkeiten. Über besondere Erfahrungen verfügt er in Investitionsangelegenheiten innerhalb der Europäischen Union. Sebastian Wuschkas Expertise erstreckt sich darüber hinaus auch auf weitere Fragen des Völkerrechts (u. a. den internationalen Menschenrechtsschutz und das humanitäre Völkerrecht).

Neben diesem Fokus umfasst Sebastian Wuschkas Beratungspraxis auch die Handelsschiedsgerichtsbarkeit, insbesondere nach den Regeln der ICC und der DIS, sowie schiedsrechtliche Anerkennung- und Vollstreckungsverfahren wie auch Aufhebungsverfahren.

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Sebastian Wuschka ist seit 2014 Mitglied des Teams Complex Disputes bei Luther. Er ist derzeit Research Fellow in einem Projekt zur Beilegung von Steuerstreitigkeiten im Rahmen internationaler Schiedsverfahren an der Universität Lausanne (Schweiz) und Of Counsel im Hamburger Büro von Luther.

Sebastian Wuschka studierte Rechtswissenschaften in Bochum (Dipl. Jur., 2012) und Genf (MIDS LL.M., 2014) und erwarb Zertifikate der Haager Akademie für Internationales Recht sowohl im Bereich des IPR (2014) wie des Völkerrechts (2017). Während seines Referendariats in Hamburg war er u. a. auch beim Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie zu völker- und europarechtlichen Fragen, bei der GIZ in Bonn zu menschenrechtlichen Fragen von Rohstofflieferketten und in der internationalen Schiedspraxis einer traditionsreichen US-Kanzlei in Washington, D.C., tätig.

Sebastian Wuschka ist assoziiertes Mitglied des Bochumer Instituts für Friedenssicherungsrecht und Humanitäres Völkerrecht (IFHV). Darüber hinaus ist oder war er als Lehrbeauftragter für Internationale Streitbeilegung an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, für Völkerrecht und Menschenrechte an der Universität Hamburg sowie für Internationales Investitionsrecht an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg aktiv.

Auszeichnungen
  • Who's Who Legal (2021): empfohlen als Global Future Leader in "Arbitration"
Publikationen
Blog Einträge
Mitgliedschaften

  • Deutsch-Amerikanische Juristen-Vereinigung (DAJV); International Law Association (ILA) & Deutsche Vereinigung für internationales Recht (DVIR); American Society of International Law (ASIL), Young ICCA; DIS40; ICC YAF; Young ICSID; LCIA Young International Arbitration Group (YIAG); Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot Practitioner Review Board

Vorträge