Dr jur Stephan Götze

Dr jur Stephan Götze

Dr jur Stephan Götze

Berlin

T +49 30 52133 28246

Lawyer
Certified Specialist in Building and Architectural Law
Partner

Areas of practice

Dr Stephan Götze primarily advises and represents private companies and contracting authorities in matters pertaining to private building and architectural law, public procurement law and contract law in the defence and security and information technology sectors. He has special expertise in developing strategic concepts for projects, in providing advice and assistance with the negotiation and implementation of contracts in the course of projects and in handling legal disputes. He is a proven expert when it comes to acting as an advisor during the implementation of complex building, infrastructure and plant construction projects.

A focus area of his services is providing advice in connection with (procurement) projects of the public sector, in particular in the infrastructure, defence and security, information technology and health care industries. In this context, he advises his clients at the interface to public procurement law on all aspects of contract and procedural law. This also includes strategically structuring and drafting contractual documents and conducting contract negotiations, as well as representing his clients after the completion of the contract award procedures in the defence and enforcement of additional claims (claim management), including enforcing claims in court (post-tender litigation).

Practices
Vita

Dr Stephan Götze studied law at the University of Bayreuth (Germany) and initially worked there as a university assistant. Following his admission to the German Bar in 2005, he started to specialise in building, general contract and public procurement law. From 2007 to 2013, he worked for HFK Rechtsanwälte, and from 2014 to 2021 for Baker McKenzie in their Berlin office. Stephan Götze joined Luther’s Berlin office as a Partner on 1 April 2021.

Clients

  • Several years of extrajudicial advice to and representation in court of an airport operator in connection with the implementation of building contracts, the enforcement and defence of claims against the construction companies and planners, in particular, change order management, drafting of supplementary agreements and clarification of construction schedule issues.
  • Ongoing strategic advice to and legal representation of a globally operating Berlin-based architecture firm regarding diverse residential construction projects in the luxury segment with project volumes in a two- or three-digit million euro amount, as a rule.
  • Comprehensive strategic and contract law advice to a contracting authority (in particular at the interface to public procurement law) regarding the development of a concept and drafting of the contract for the provision of project control, planning and implementation services (general contractor agreement) relating to the redevelopment of a group of buildings with a gross floor area of around 50,000 m² in downtown Berlin.
  • Repeated provision of advice to one of the world’s leading information technology companies on the drafting and implementation of contracts regarding the construction of data centres, in particular on the drafting and enforcement of project management, project control and general planning contracts.
  • Extrajudicial advice to and representation in court of diverse medium-sized main contractors in the field of commercial and residential construction.
  • Construction-related advice to and representation of a globally operating German technology company regarding the construction of new headquarters with a project volume in the upper double-digit million euro range.
  • Drafting and negotiation of diverse large-scale planning and main/general contractor agreements regarding the construction of office and commercial space and logistics facilities.
  • Comprehensive assistance with contract award procedures, in particular, drafting of contracts and support during highly complex contract negotiations in the defence and security sector.
  • Advice to and representation of several of the world’s leading pharmaceutical companies in disputes following the implementation of contract award procedures (post-tender litigation), as well as in judicial proceedings regarding defending against claims for contractual penalties and for damages for failure to deliver during the implementation of pharmaceuticals rebate contracts, with amounts in dispute of several million euros.
  • Drafting and assistance with the negotiation of a long-term master agreement regarding the procurement of central telecommunications infrastructure for a German state and several subordinated authorities, with a contract volume in a three-digit million euro amount.
  • Post-tender litigation on behalf of the IT service provider of a German state vis-à-vis the former service provider regarding claims for adjustments to the contract and for additional remuneration, as well as for several million euros in damages due to alleged breaches of public procurement law.
  • Ongoing contract law advice to an employers’ liability insurance association regarding the key areas of information technology and communication to ensure the demand-based provision of diverse IT and other services and hardware at the interface between public procurement and contract law in compliance with security and data protection requirements.
  • Repeated strategic and interdisciplinary project advice, together with commercial consultants, to public housing developers and private property owners regarding the outsourcing of construction, maintenance and redevelopment contracts, partly including energy contracting and subsequent contract management.

Publications

Blog posts
Memberships

  • Deutscher Baugerichtstag e.V.
  • forum Vergabe e.V.
  • Deutsches Vergabenetzwerk DVNW

Lectures

Dr. jur. Stephan Götze

Dr. jur. Stephan Götze

Dr. jur. Stephan Götze

Berlin

T +49 30 52133 28246

Rechtsanwalt
Fachanwalt für Bau- und Architektenrecht
Partner

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Dr. Stephan Götze berät und vertritt schwerpunktmäßig private Unternehmen und öffentliche Auftraggeber in den Bereichen Privates Baurecht und Architektenrecht, Vergaberecht, Vertragsrecht im Bereich Verteidigung und Sicherheit sowie der Informationstechnologie. Seine Expertise erstreckt sich vor allem auf die strategische Konzeptionierung von Projekten, die projektbegleitende Beratung bei Vertragsverhandlungen und der Vertragsumsetzung bis hin zu Rechtsstreitigkeiten. Er ist ein ausgewiesener Experte für die baubegleitende Beratung bei komplexen Hochbau-, Infrastruktur- und Anlagenbauvorhaben.

Zu seinen Kerntätigkeiten gehört vor allem die Beratung im Zusammenhang mit (Beschaffungs-)Projekten der öffentlichen Hand, insbesondere in den Bereichen Infrastruktur, Verteidigung und Sicherheit, der Informationstechnologie und dem Gesundheitswesen. Dabei berät er seine Mandanten an der Schnittstelle zum Vergaberecht in allen Aspekten des Vertrags- und Prozessrechts. Das umfasst auch die strategische Strukturierung sowie die Erstellung von Vertragsdokumenten und die Durchführung von Vertragsverhandlungen sowie nach Abschluss eines Verga-beverfahrens die Vertretung bei der Abwehr und Durchsetzung von Nachtragsforderungen (Claim-Management) und der streitigen Durchsetzung („Post-Tender-Litigation“).

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Dr. Stephan Götze studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Bayreuth und war dort zunächst als Universitätsassistent tätig. Mit seiner Anwaltszulassung im Jahr 2005 spezialisierte er sich auf das Baurecht, Allgemeine Vertragsrecht und Vergaberecht. Von 2007 bis 2013 war er bei HFK Rechtsanwälte und von 2014 bis 2021 im Berliner Büro von Baker McKenzie tätig. Seit 1. April 2021 ist er Partner bei Luther am Standort Berlin. 

Ausgewählte Mandate

  • Mehrjährige außergerichtliche Beratung und gerichtliche Vertretung eines Flughafenbetreibers bei der Umsetzung von Bauverträgen, der Durchsetzung und Abwehr von Ansprüchen gegenüber den Bauunternehmen und Planern, insbesondere Nachtragsmanagement, Gestaltung von Ergänzungsvereinbarungen und Klärung bauzeitlicher Fragestellungen.
  • Laufende strategische Beratung und rechtliche Vertretung eines weltweit tätigen Berliner Architekturbüro zu diversen Wohnbauvorhaben im Luxussegment mit regelmäßigen Projektvolumen im zwei- und dreistelligen Millionenbereich.
  • Umfassende strategische und vertragsrechtliche Beratung einer öffentlichen Auftraggeberin (insbesondere an der Schnittstelle zum Vergaberecht) in Bezug auf die Konzeptionierung und Vertragsgestaltung der Projektsteuerungs-, Planungs- und Ausführungsleistungen (Generalübernehmervertrag) für die Sanierung eines Gebäudekomplexes mit einer BGF von rd. 50.000 m² in zentraler Innenstadtlage Berlins.
  • Wiederkehrende Beratung bei der Vertragsgestaltung und Vertragsumsetzung eines weltweit führenden Informationstechnikunternehmens bei der Errichtung von Datencentern, insbesondere bei der Gestaltung und Durchsetzung von Projektmanagement-, Projektsteuerungs- und Generalplanungsverträgen.
  • Außergerichtliche Beratung und gerichtliche Vertretung diverser mittelständischer Generalunternehmer im Bereich des Gewerbe- und Wohnungsbaus.
  • Baubegleitende Beratung und Vertretung eines weltweit tätigen deutschen Technologieunternehmens bei der Errichtung eines neuen Headquarters mit einem Projektvolumen im oberen zweistelligen Millionenbereich. 
  • Erstellung und Verhandlung von diversen großvolumigen Planer- und Generalunter-/-übernehmerverträgen im Büro- und Gewerbebau sowie im Logistikbereich.
  • Umfassende Begleitung von Vergabeverfahren, insbesondere Entwurf von Verträgen und Begleitung hochkomplexer Vertragsverhandlungen im Bereich Verteidigung und Sicherheit.
  • Beratung und Vertretung von mehreren weltweit führenden pharmazeutischen Unternehmen in Streitigkeiten nach Durchführung eines Vergabeverfahrens (Post Tender Litigation) und in Gerichtsverfahren zur Abwehr von Vertragsstrafen- und Schadensersatzforderungen wegen Lieferausfällen bei der Durchführung von Arzneimittelrabattverträgen mit Streitwerten von mehreren Millionen Euro.
  • Vertragserstellung und Begleitung der Vertragsverhandlungen für eine mehrjährige Rahmenvereinbarung zur Beschaffung von zentraler Telekommunikationsinfrastruktur für ein Bundesland mit mehreren nachgeordneten Behörden in einem Auftragsvolumen im dreistelligen Millionenbereich.
  • Post Tender Litigation für den IT-Dienstleister eines Bundeslandes gegenüber dem Altdienstleister wegen Ansprüchen auf Vertragsanpassung und Mehrvergütung sowie Schadensersatz in mehrfacher Millionenhöhe aufgrund behaupteter Vergaberechtsverstöße.
  • Fortgesetzte vertragsrechtliche Beratung einer Berufsgenossenschaft für die zentralen Bereiche der Informationstechnologie und Kommunikation zur Sicherstellung einer bedarfs-, sicherheits- und datenschutzgerechten Bereitstellung verschiedener IT-Services, Diensten und Hardware an der Schnittstelle von Vergabe- und Vertragsrecht.
  • Wiederholte strategische und interdisziplinäre Projektbegleitung zusammen mit kaufmännischen Beratern von öffentlichen Wohnungsbauunternehmen und privaten Immobilienbestandshaltern zum Outsourcing  von Bau-, Instandhaltungs- und Sanierungsverträgen, teilweise einschließlich Energiecontracting sowie anschließendem Vertragsmanagement.

Publikationen

Mitgliedschaften

  • Mitglied im Deutschen Baugerichtstag e.V.
  • Mitglied im forum Vergabe e.V.
  • Mitglied im Deutschen Vergabenetzwerk DVNW