Henner-Matthias Puppel

Henner-Matthias Puppel

Henner-Matthias Puppel

Essen

T +49 201 9220 24037

Partner
Lawyer
Industries Real Estate & Infrastructure

Areas of Practice

Henner-M. Puppel mainly advises businesses and the public sector on the overall structuring and implementation of project developments and complex construction projects. This includes realising PPPs as well as public acquisition plans (including third-party advance financing for construction projects and the sale of property with building concessions) and any queries relating to public procurement and contractual law that may arise in this regard. He also provides advice during the construction process, for example, controlling the execution of the construction project, drafting contracts, and dealing with negotiations relating to the construction of the plant (power plants, renewable energy as well as industrial plants).

Practices
Vita

Henner-M. Puppel was born in 1973. He studied law and philology at the Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany as well as at the Universidad de Salamanca, Spain. Before being admitted to the German Bar, he worked for Roland Berger Strategy Consultants. He was a trainee at the German University for Administrative Sciences, Speyer, Germany and he specialised in matters concerning public business, public procurement and real estate business law. Henner-M. Puppel is the head of Luther’s PPP practice. He joined Luther in 2004.

Publications
Honors and Distinctions
  • The Legal 500 Germany (2019): Listed under "Public Law PPP" and "Public Law - Public Procurement Law"
  • The Legal 500 (2018): Recommended under the headings "Real estate and construction law, construction law (including dispute resolution)", "Public procurement law" and "PPP"
  • Chambers Europe (since 2012): Listed in "Projects"
    Satisfied clients single out construction lawyer Henner-Matthias Puppel of Luther Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH for his "great expertise and technical knowledge."
  • The Legal 500 Germany (since 2015): Listed in "PPP": "… who is perceived by clients as a ‘full member’ of their team", as well as under "Construction": "Jutta Wittler, Achim Meier and Henner Puppel have to be mentioned in particular."
  • European Government Project Finance PPP Deal of the Year (2011): advising the Federal Agency for Public Property (BImA), during the procurement process.
  • Chambers Europe (2012-2015): Ranking in the category "Project Finance/PPP".

Henner-Matthias Puppel

Henner-Matthias Puppel

Henner-Matthias Puppel

Essen

T +49 201 9220 24037

Partner
Rechtsanwalt
Mitglied der Branche Real Estate & Infrastructure

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Henner-M. Puppel berät schwerpunktmäßig Wirtschaftsunternehmen und die öffentliche Hand in der ganzheitlichen Strukturierung und Durchführung von Projektentwicklungen und komplexen Bauvorhaben. Hierzu zählt die Realisierung als Public Private Partnership (ÖPP/PPP) sowie in anderen öffentlichen Beschaffungsvorhaben (u.a. drittvorfinanzierte Bauvorhaben und Grundstücksveräußerungen mit Bauverpflichtung) und allen damit verbundenen Fragen des Vergabe- und Vertragsrechts. Zu den Beratungsfeldern zählt ebenfalls die baubegleitende Rechtsberatung im Rahmen des Umsetzungscontrollings von Bauvorhaben sowie die Vertragsgestaltung und -verhandlung im Bereich des Anlagenbaus (Kraftwerksbau, erneuerbare Energien sowie Industrieanlagen).

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Henner-M. Puppel studierte Rechtswissenschaften und Philologie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum sowie der Universidad de Salamanca. Vor seiner Zulassung als Rechtsanwalt war er u.a. bei der Roland Berger Strategy Consultants tätig und spezialisierte sich im Rahmen des Referendariats u.a. an der Deutschen Hochschule für Verwaltungswissenschaften (DHV) in Speyer auf Fragen des öffentlichen Wirtschaftsrechts, Vergaberechts und des Immobilienwirtschaftsrechts. Er ist seit 2004 bei Luther beschäftigt und leitet den Bereich Public Private Partnership.

Publikationen
Auszeichnungen
  • The Legal 500 Deutschland (2019): Nennung unter "Öffentliches Recht PPP" und "Öffentliches Recht - Vergaberecht"
  • The Legal 500 (2018): Empfohlen in den Rubriken "Immobilien- und Baurecht, Baurecht (einschließlich Streitbeilegung)", "Vergaberecht" und "PPP" ("überdurchschnittlich engagiert, entscheidungs- und verhandlungsstark", "verfügt über exzellentes Fachwissen, strategischen Weitblick in der Beratung, eine gute Vernetzung sowie über Branchenkenntnisse im Gesundheitswesen")
  • Chambers Europe (seit 2012): Listung unter "Projects"Satisfied clients single out construction lawyer Henner-Matthias Puppel of Luther Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH for his "great expertise and technical knowledge."
  • The Legal 500 (seit 2015): Empfohlen unter PPP "… der von Mandanten als ‘vollumfängliches Mitglied’ ihres Teams wahrgenommen wird.", sowie im  Baurecht "Besonders hervorzuheben sind Jutta Wittler, Achim Meier und Henner Puppel"
  • Project Finance European Government PPP Deal of the Year (2011): Begleitung des Auftraggebers, die Bundesanstalt für Immobilienaufgaben (BImA), während des Vergabeverfahrens.
  • Chambers Europe (2015): Listung im Bereich „Project Finance/PPP".