Frank Tschentscher

Frank Tschentscher

Frank Tschentscher

Hamburg

T +49 40 18067 10420

Lawyer
Partner
Solicitor (England & Wales) *

Areas of Practice

Frank Tschentscher advises on national and international reorganisation and insolvency law in restructuring situations. He regularly represents groups of international financial creditors and/or banking syndicates when companies (including listed companies) are reorganised out of court, but also conducts negotiations on behalf of the debtor, in addition to taking on overall responsibility for planning and implementing complex restructuring projects in Germany and abroad. His range of advisory services further includes advising and representing foreign or German insolvency administrators and other parties involved in German or cross-border insolvency proceedings.

Frank Tschentscher has published numerous works on topics relating to insolvency law and is a frequent lecturer at national and international conferences. He co-authored the commentary on european insolvency regulation published by Dr Andreas Schmidt.

Practices
Vita

After successfully completing a commercial training programme, Frank Tschentscher studied law at the University of Hamburg (Germany). Following his admission to the German Bar in early 2000, he initially worked for a renowned (big four) audit firm before leaving Germany to join a well-known law firm in England, where he focused on providing restructuring and insolvency advice, especially in a cross-border context. In 2003, Frank Tschentscher was admitted as a Solicitor of England & Wales; in 2005, he became a Partner in the English law firm. Frank Tschentscher returned to Germany in 2009 and was for many years a Partner in a leading German insolvency law firm before joining Luther in 2019, where he now is a member of the Commercial team.

Frank Tschentscher is vice-president of INSOL Europe, an international organisation of professionals who specialise in insolvency, business reconstruction and recovery.

Honors and Distinctions
  • Best Lawyers (2021): Award in "Mergers and Acquisitions Law" and "Restructuring and Insolvency Law"
  • The Legal 500 Germany (2020): Mention in Restructuring and Insolvency - Restructuring
  • Handelsblatt / Best Lawyers - Germany´s Best Lawyers (2019)
  • often recommended by JUVE in the Area of Restructuring & Insolvency (since 2010)
Clients

  • Restructuring of an infrastructure project – project company in a PPP: advised and represented an international banking syndicate in connection with the financial reorganisation and restructuring of a federal highway expansion project (so-called “A-Modell”) with a complex financing structure and international shareholders involving the Federal Republic of Germany
  • Scholz Holding GmbH: advised and represented a German bank creditor in connection with the restructuring efforts undertaken by the Scholz Group
  • German shipyard group: represented a shipyard group having three locations in Northern Germany and approximately 1,400 employees in negotiations with the Group’s relevant foreign client and (separately) with the state government regarding the Group’s restructuring and/or reorganisation and developed and implemented a sustainable reorganisation plan
  • Restructuring of the financial liabilities of SolarWorld AG: acted as representative and chief negotiator for the relevant par-lender bondholders in connection with the successful reorganisation of SolarWorld (volume: corporate bond liabilities in the amount of EUR 352.5 million)
  • Merkle family in connection with the reorganisation of Ratiopharm GmbH, PHOENIX Pharmahandel GmbH & Co KG, and HeidelbergCement AG: advised and represented the shareholders during the reorganisation and restructuring of the liabilities of the entire group of companies, total volume: approximately EUR 15 billion (EUR 9 billion for Ratiopharm and Phoenix); acted as chief negotiator for the family in negotiations with the banks (Steering Committee)
  • Reorganisation of Crest Nicholson Group Limited, an English company, by means of a Scheme of Arrangement: advised and represented a German bank creditor, advised on the financial restructuring of corporate liabilities amounting to approximately GBP 1.1 billion (debt-to-equity swap)

Publications

Frank Tschentscher, LL.M. (NTU)

Frank Tschentscher, LL.M. (NTU)

Frank Tschentscher, LL.M. (NTU)

Hamburg

T +49 40 18067 10420

Rechtsanwalt
Partner
Solicitor (England & Wales) *

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte

Frank Tschentscher berät in Restrukturierungssituationen zum nationalen und internationalen Sanierungs- und Insolvenzrecht. Er vertritt regelmäßig Gruppen internationaler Finanzgläubiger und/oder Bankenkonsortien bei der außergerichtlichen Sanierung von (teilweise börsennotierten) Unternehmen, ist aber auch als Verhandlungsführer auf Schuldnerseite tätig und zeichnet insgesamt federführend verantwortlich für die Planung und Durchführung komplexer Restrukturierungsprojekte im In- und Ausland. Zum Angebotsspektrum gehört aber auch die Beratung und Vertretung ausländischer oder deutscher Insolvenzverwalter sowie sonstiger Verfahrensbeteiligter im Zusammenhang mit deutschen oder grenzüberschreitenden Insolvenzverfahren.

Frank Tschentscher hat umfangreich zu insolvenzrechtlichen Fragestellungen publiziert und ist regelmäßiger Referent bei nationalen und internationalen Fachveranstaltungen. Er ist Mitautor des von Dr. Andreas Schmidt herausgegebenen Kommentars zur Europäischen Insolvenzverordnung (EuInsVO).

Beratungsfelder
Vita

Frank Tschentscher wurde 1967 geboren. Im Anschluss an eine kaufmännischen Ausbildung studierte er Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Hamburg. Nach seiner Anwaltszulassung Anfang 2000 war Frank Tschentscher zunächst für eine namhafte Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (big four) tätig, bevor er Deutschland verließ und sich einer bekannten Rechtsanwaltskanzlei in England anschloss. Dort war er schwerpunktmäßig in der Restrukturierungs- und Insolvenzberatung tätig, ganz überwiegend in grenzüberschreitenden Sachverhalten. 2003 wurde Frank Tschentscher als Solicitor of England & Wales zugelassen, 2005 in die Partnerschaft der englischen Kanzlei aufgenommen. 2009 kehrte er nach Deutschland zurück und war lange Jahre Partner einer führenden deutschen Insolvenzrechtskanzlei. Seit 2019 ist Frank Tschentscher bei Luther in der Service Line Commercial.

Frank Tschentscher ist Vize-Präsident der internationalen Vereinigung von Insolvenzrechtlern und Krisenmanagern INSOL Europe.

Auszeichnungen
  • The Legal 500 Deutschland (2020): Nennung in Restrukturierung und Insolvenz - Restrukturierung
  • Handelsblatt / Best Lawyers - Deutschlands beste Anwälte (2019)
  • JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien: häufig empfohlen in der Rubrik "Restrukturierung und Insolvenz" (seit 2010)
Ausgewählte Mandate

  • Restrukturierung Infrastrukturprojekt – Projektgesellschaft in ÖPP: Beratung und Vertretung internationalen Bankenkonsortiums im Zusammenhang mit der finanzwirtschaftlichen Sanierung und Restrukturierung eines Bundesautobahn-Ausbaumodells (A-Modell) mit komplexer Finanzierungsstruktur, internationalen Gesellschaftern und Beteiligung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.
  • Scholz Holding GmbH: Beratung und Vertretung deutschen Bankengläubigers im Zusammenhang mit den Restrukturierungsbemühungen der Scholz-Unternehmensgruppe.
  • Deutsche Werftengruppe: Vertretung Werftengruppe mit drei Standorten in Norddeutschland und ca. 1400 Arbeitnehmern bei den Restrukturierungs- bzw. Sanierungsverhandlungen mit dem wesentlichen ausländischen Auftraggeber und auch (gesondert) mit der Landesregierung sowie Ausarbeitung und Umsetzung eines belastbaren Sanierungskonzeptes.
  • Restrukturierung der Finanzverbindlichkeiten der SolarWorld AG: Vertreter und Verhandlungsführer der wesentlichen parlender Schuldscheingläubiger in der erfolgreichen Sanierung SolarWorlds (Volumen EUR 352,5 Million Unternehmensverbindlichkeiten aus Schuldschein).
  • Familie Merkle in der Sanierung der Ratiopharm GmbH, PHOENIX Pharmahandel GmbH & Co KG sowie HeidelbergCement AG: Beratung und Vertretung der Gesellschafter bei der Sanierung und Restrukturierung der Verbindlichkeiten der gesamten Unternehmensgruppe, Gesamtvolumen von rund EUR 15 Milliarden (EUR 9 Milliarden für Ratiopharm und Phoenix). Verhandlungsführer für die Familie ggü. Banken (Steering Committee).
  • Reorganisation der englischen Gesellschaft Crest Nicholson Group Limited durch Scheme of Arrangement: Beratung und Vertretung deutschen Bankengläubigers, finanzielle Restrukturierung Unternehmensverbindlichkeiten in Höhe von rund GBP 1,1 Milliarden (Debt-to-Equity-Swap).

Publikationen

Mitgliedschaften

  • INSOL Europe – The Professional Association for European Restructuring and Insolvency Specialists

  • TMA Turnaround Management Association, UK Chapter.

  • Norddeutsches Insolvenzforum Hamburg e.V.

  • DAV ARGE Insolvenzrecht & Sanierung

  • Hamburger Anwaltsverein